The American Library Association has shortlisted six books for the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence. The medals are awarded each year to the best fiction and nonfiction books written for adults in the previous year and published in the U.S.

2014 shortlisted titles are, in Nonfiction: On Paper: The Everything of Its Two-Thousand Year History by Nicholas A. Basbanes; Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital by Sheri Fink; The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism by Doris Kearns Goodwin. In Fiction, the nominees are: Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.; Claire of the Sea Light by Edwidge Danticat; and The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt.

The medals will be awarded at a presentation event at the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas in June.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s